This year marks the 14th anniversary of the Chief Learning Officer Learning In Practice Awards, a recognition program to spotlight learning leaders, vendors and organizations that demonstrate excellence in workforce development programming design and delivery as well as use learning to enact measurable changes in their business, strategy or leadership.

A panel of judges who are practitioners in the industry chose winners from almost 200 nominations. Senior leaders received awards in eight categories that had two divisions: Division 1 for companies with more than 10,000 employees and Division 2 for companies with fewer than 10,000 employees. Learning providers were also recognized for their service in seven categories, including content, technology and e-learning.

Winners were recognized during an awards ceremony held Oct. 3 during the 2017 CLO Symposium+PLUS at the Hyatt Regency Resort in Huntington Beach, California.


Excellence in E-Learning

The Excellence in E-learning award recognizes vendors that have rolled out an innovative and effective e-learning program or suite for a client.

Excellence in Technology Innovation

The Excellence in Technology Innovation recognizes vendors that have rolled out an innovative learning technology for a client such as machine learning, artificial intelligence, apps, video, social collaboration tools or games and simulations.

Excellence in Partnership

The Excellence in Partnership award recognizes vendors or consultants who have effectively supported a client’s learning and development function to set strategy or establish or implement a program via consulting or whole or partial outsources services.

Excellence in Executive Education

The Excellence in Executive Education award recognizes executive education providers that have delivered a targeted executive education program for a client that has delivered measurable results.

Excellence in Academic Partnerships

The Excellence in Academic Partnerships award recognizes accredited academic learning institutions that have partnered with an organization in the past year to develop skills, competency or knowledge in a general employee population.

Excellence in Blended Learning

The Excellence in Blended Learning Award recognizes vendors that have deployed a variety of tools in support of a client’s learning program that delivers engaging learning combining multiple modalities.


The Innovation Award

For learning executives who have marshaled resources and applied innovative practices, processes and/or technologies in a new and groundbreaking way to address a significant business or organizational opportunity.

The Strategy Award

For learning executives who have demonstrated exceptional business acumen combined with forward-looking vision to develop and execute a comprehensive learning strategy that clearly aligns employee development with broader organizational strategy.

The Business Partnership Award

For learning departments that have partnered in a progressive way with business partners or external organizational divisions and functions to develop and deliver a targeted employee development program.

The Technology Award

For learning executives who have delivered new and unique applications of emerging technology to employee learning and development.

The Talent Management Award

For learning executives who have developed a program that effectively integrates learning into broader talent management initiatives such as employee engagement, onboarding, succession planning, recruiting or performance management.

The Trailblazer Award

For learning executives who have either launched a new enterprise learning function or completely overhauled existing workforce development initiatives in the past year.

Sign Up For Our Emails


Sept. 30 - Oct. 2 | Marriott Marquis Houston