This year marks the 13th anniversary of the Chief Learning Officer Learning In Practice Awards, a recognition program to spotlight learning leaders, vendors and organizations that demonstrate excellence in workforce development programming design and delivery as well as use learning to enact measurable changes in their business, strategy or leadership.

A panel of judges who are practitioners in the industry chose winners from almost 200 nominations. Senior leaders received awards in eight categories that had two divisions: Division 1 for companies with more than 10,000 employees and Division 2 for companies with fewer than 10,000 employees. Learning providers were also recognized for their service in seven categories, including content, technology and e-learning.

Winners were recognized during an awards dinner held Sept. 27 at the Fall 2016 CLO Symposium Plus at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn in Arizona.


Excellence in Partnership

Recognizes vendors or consultants who have effectively supported a client’s learning and development function to set strategy or establish or implement a program via consulting or whole or partial outsources services.


The Innovation Award

For learning executives who have marshaled resources and applied innovative practices, processes and/or technologies in a new and groundbreaking way to address a significant business or organizational opportunity.

The Strategy Award

For learning executives who have demonstrated exceptional business acumen combined with forward-looking vision to develop and execute a comprehensive learning strategy that clearly aligns employee development with broader organizational strategy.

The Talent Management Award

For learning executives who have developed a program that effectively integrates learning into broader talent management initiatives such as employee engagement, onboarding, succession planning, recruiting or performance management.

Sign Up For Our Emails


Sept. 30 - Oct. 2 | Marriott Marquis Houston