Now in its tenth year, the Learning In Practice Awards recognize industry leaders who have demonstrated excellence in the design and delivery of employee development programs.

Nominations are now closed and finalists for the 2013 awards are listed below.

Gold, silver and bronze award winners will be recognized during an awards dinner at the Fall 2013 Chief Learning Officer Symposium at the Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa on Monday, Sept. 30. Dinner guest will hear a keynote address from 2012 CLO of the Year, Pat Crull of Time Warner Cable. Entertainment will be provided by Ken Block and Drew Copeland of platinum selling pop group, Sister Hazel.

Tickets are required for this event. To register for the Symposium and/or the dinner, click here.

2013 Finalists (names are listed in alphabetical order, not in rank order)

Practitioner Categories

Business Impact

  • Jenny Dearborn, SuccessFactors
  • Wendy Kouba, Merck
  • Duane LaBom, Rackspace
  • Dhamayanthi N., HCL Technologies
  • Ken Powell, SunGard
  • Kimberly Stewart, First Citizens Bank


  • Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Iron Mountain
  • Lash Group
  • MassMutual Financial Group
  • NetApp
  • University Hospitals

Global Learning Award

  • Chuck Battipede, Hewlett-Packard
  • Birgitte Ellersgaard, LEO Pharma
  • Rob Lauber, Yum! Brands
  • Andrea McMullen, Life Technologies
  • Nancy Singer, Merck/MSD
  • Hariraj Vijayakumar, Cognizant Technology Solutions


  • Kate Day, Cisco Systems
  • Pat Golden, Deltek
  • Winnie Larsen, Hilton Worldwide
  • Adri Maisonet, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of North Carolina
  • Steve Stone, USAA
  • David Van Meter, Infinite Campus Inc.


  • Tara D. Gray, Chevron
  • Wendy Kouba, Merck
  • William Magagna, Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics
  • Deborah McCuiston, Virgin America
  • Dhamayanthi N., HCL Technologies Ltd.
  • Ann Marie Sidman, Gen Re


  • Douglas Clayton, SES
  • Conrad Cone, The Active Network
  • Adri Maisonet, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of North Carolina
  • Helen Zarba, Bright Horizons Family Solutions


  • David Koll, ConAgra Foods, Inc.
  • Kim Dorer, Spectrum Health
  • Jenifer Johnson, Cleveland Airport System (City of Cleveland)
  • Diane Simmons, Healthcare Financial Management Association
  • Gary VanderLind, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

2013 Finalists

Provider Categories

Academic Partnerships

  • Rutgers University School of Business Camden-Executive Education
  • University of Phoenix

Blended Technology

  • InfoPro Learning, Inc.
  • Origin Learning
  • Seertech Solutions

Community Service

  • Bellevue University
  • Cornerstone OnDemand
  • University of Phoenix


  • AchieveGlobal
  • EBSCO Publishing
  • Enspire Studios


  • Ivy Planning Group
  • Saba Software
  • WeejeeLearning

Simulations & Gaming

  • C2 Technologies
  • Carney, Inc.
  • Enspire Studios

Social Learning

  • Interactyx Limited
  • Saba Software

Vendor Partnership

  • GP Strategies Corporation
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Skillsoft


More than 60 awards are given annually in two broad categories: Practitioner and Provider. For more on each, click here.

Nomination Forms

Online entry forms for the awards can be found here:

Practitioner Division 1 (for organizations with more than 10,000 employees)

Practitioner Division 2 (for organizations with less than 10,000 employees)

CLO of the Year

Providers (for qualified vendors and service providers)

Past Winners and FAQ

To see a list of past winners, please visit the Past Winners page.

Information about the Learning In Practice awards can be found on the FAQ page here.